Partisan Post: Why I Support Obama and Palin’s Acquisitions

September 22, 2008

I was recently asked by a friend of mine about my stance on the elections. And although I try to keep non-partisan in my posts for the sake of the blog as well as my reputation, I will admit that I am an Obama supporter. And as a thirteen year old seventh-grader, I would like to point out that I don’t think he is something of a Messia or persuasive cult leader, as the frankly true stereotype for political teens would suggest. 

I support him. My job here on this blog is to follow both parties’ political moves and strategies, and this has also opened me up to his policies, which I do believe can send America in the right way.

But I don’t, however, think that John McCain is any sort of enemy. He isn’t running for president because he is a communist intent on dissolving our government, he is running for office because he wants to change the direction that we are headed in. I just believe in my opinion that he will not change America in the way that we want him to, and that his health is a serious risk. 

Which takes me to Palin. 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I would call myself a strategic commentator as far as my preferred topics, and I will say without doubt that McCain’s choosing of Sarah Palin was pure genius. It took the media by storm and was prepared long in advance (I’ll get to it). The story of a extremely-far right woman governor as the Vice President of the United States with a chance to become the leader of the free world had added a new chapter to politics, getting five-paragraph opinion pieces out of food bloggers and leading to complete chaos inside the media. It got everyone’s voice out, and that is exactly what it intended.

And meanwhile, it let Sarah Palin prep for the debates. Setting a fire inside the press as well as the blogosphere, the pick not only let the media go opinion-galore in arguments and editorials, but it let Palin go out of the MSM and prepare for what is to come — mandatory debates that she must complete without falling flat. 

But it was a PR stunt. 

Politically, it placed a rocket under the Republican party, but what people fail to understand in my opinion is the permanent placement here is the fact that one must think of a vice presidential pick as a vice president, not a burst of nitrous on a racecar. A CNN news commentator put in extremely well: 

As a Democrat and political strategist, I am excited [with the pick of Sarah Palin], but as an American I am scared out of my mind.

I completely share this man’s point. I am both scared and offended that in a time needing drastic change, a campaign would choose someone to not only place the second highest office in the most powerful country in the world, but pick with such strategic care and literately no thought of the future. Obama told the media after the Sarah Palin frenzy that he choose his running mate Joe Biden because he wanted to change America and he thought that Biden was the best person for that cause. 

And this is precisely why I both pushed far away from supporting the McCain campaign and now have a fascination towards Sarah Palin and what she will do next. As a non-voting 13 year old who (by definition) shouldn’t be talking about this stuff — rather playing outside in the sprinklers), is also a political commentator, I am terrified of the McCain campaign because this seems like their plans for America, and completely amazed with the strategic marvel of Sarah Palin. 

pacer521

29 Responses to “Partisan Post: Why I Support Obama and Palin’s Acquisitions”

  1. rhapsodyinbooks Says:

    Are you sure you aren’t really Ender Wiggen?!!!

  2. pacer521 Says:

    I don’t know who that is, but I guess its a compliment, so thanks.

  3. Fran barlow Says:

    You’re remarkably articualte for a 13-year-old. As a teacher, I’d be thrilled if my 17-year-olds could compose text as well as you do here.

    Acouple of observations may be germane. Palin is on the far right, not the left. McCain is not being accused of being a communist subversive by anyone whose opinion counts. (That said, google Jeremy Corsi, author of “Obamanation”) Obama is sometimes accused of being a kind of left/Muslim ‘manchurian candidate’ by the crazies on the right (the Republican/Evangelical lunatic fringe). Rush Limbaugh is now saying he’s not black but an Arab!

    By all means though, keep paying attention to the world. It’s a fascinating place.

  4. pacer521 Says:

    Fran Barlow,

    Thanks for the compliments!

    About the observations: the far-left thing was a big typo – fixed now. If you like this post, you might like to check out some of my other stuff, just search around the blog.

    pacer521

  5. Terrant Says:

    To be honest, I would not have guessed you were 13 but then again when I was your age, I was playing with my Atari 800XL and internet was a word I wouldn’t hear for another 6 years. 🙂

    I have to agree with you about Palin. She was gave McCain a much needed shot in the arm but I think the effect is wearing off. I was just thinking about this today and to me McCain is doing her and his campaign a disservice by limiting her opportunities to answer tough questions. Either that or she’s more of a disaster than I can imagine.

  6. basharH Says:

    You’re a pretty darn smart 13-year-old and if our country had a whole lot more 21-90-year-olds as smart as you we would not be in this situation.

    (I think you meant to say Miss Sarah is “far right” rather than far left….)

    Keep up your very thoughtful postings. We need to hear from you and your generation.

  7. Arken Says:

    You’re wrong. McCain is an enemy. Just like all of the plundering Republicans that have been around since Nixon. McCain is an enemy of regulation, an enemy of science and an enemy of a woman’s life to choose.

    On top of that, he wants to continue to fight in Iraq. Anyone who is contributing to the death of our troops is the enemy.

  8. Kevvboy Says:

    I am with the diarist.
    McCain is NOT an enemy. He is our opponent and MUST be defeated.

    Ask Senator Obama. He has spent 18 months begging us all to get beyond the politics of destruction and blind party loyalty.

    We can do better.

  9. Arken Says:

    This isn’t about blind party loyalty. John McCain is a bad man. He wants to do bad things to us because he is selfish and because he’s an asshole.

    And again, he wants more of our troops to die.

  10. Kevvboy Says:

    I agree, mostly. I still don’t think he is “the enemy.” And I ask you, again, to read a speech or two by our candidate and reflect on your tone.

  11. Kwamo Says:

    Very good!

    A+ You are the reason Obama wants Americans to exceed to compete globally! Great analysis I might add, right with the PR stunt, but at the end of the day this is the worst PR hoax on America ever. If you want to add this commentary which I find I have to with the executive/experience….Obama was voted in by 18million+ whereas Ptamom was selected by a team with their own agenda, there is a difference. Also Obama has 14 years of experience, and for goodness sakes, the fact he has Constitutional Law under his belt is a qualifying factor alone!

  12. Alizard Says:

    “extremely-far left woman governor”??? If you mean “the story”, that’s one thing, it’s a narrative that is a flat-out lie, like just about anything else coming from the GOP?

    If you actually think she IS a far-left governor … better do some research before posting again.

    Palin isn’t playing a Religious Right extremist to get votes, she is one of them.

  13. InfinityLincoln Says:

    Did you read the thing? It was clearly a typo, I make them all the time. He knows Palin is a republican, and a scary one at that. I would welcome a lot more 13 year olds who thought things through as much as this. I would welcome a lot more 53 year olds who thought things through as well as this for that matter.

  14. InfinityLincoln Says:

    Very well done I think sir you just might have a future in this business. Don’t be discouraged by not being able to vote, with any luck, if you’re 13 now, depending on when your birthday is, maybe you’ll be able to vote for Obama in 2012. I am very impressed with your ability to see right through Palin, there are many adults who are not half as smart and savvy as you’ve shown yourself to be.

  15. DrJeremy Says:

    One debate, and if she had had advance knowledge, she wouldn’t be ducking the media, would she? Plus, she didn’t have advance knowledge. I happen to know that this was a last minute call. McCain wanted Lieberman until Wed. Then he finally gave up on him, and wanted Pawlenty. As late as in the hour before Obama’s speech on Thursday, there was serious consideration of releasing Pawlenty’s name to steal Obama’s thunder. So McCain decided on Palin when? Midnight? One AM? Had to be sometime around then.

  16. huxbux Says:

    I have to say I’m thoroughly impressed by your advanced analysis for someone your age.

    I’d like to add that every VP candidate is selected to serve a political purpose. None of which can be said to be noble. Pailin to put a fresh coat of paint on the rusting GOP as well as to garner the female vote. Conversely, Biden was chosen for the purpose of attacking McCain allowing Obama to remain above the fray, and to add the all important experience factor to the Obama ticket.

  17. chamay0 Says:

    Very well said for an educated young man (watch out when you’re in your 30s you’ll be called an elitist). I can understand your fascination being a young man with Sarah Palin and what her arrival on the ticket has done for the republican party. It is already widely acknowledged that she was a rocket for the republican base and still is and have many neocons and the right wing very happy. Unfortunately, her bubble is starting to burst and her approval is constantly falling (down to 42%). But that’s not important. That pales in comparison to her total inability to perform the task as the VP which is scary at best. It makes me very nervous about McCain’s capacity and judgment for being capable of running the white house with a sound strong mind.

  18. Fran Barlow Says:

    I think the thing about Palin really underlines that this election, perhaps even more than other elections is being fought out not as an exercise in appealing to some sort of rational self-interest, but as an instance of what are sometimes called ‘the culture wars’.

    On both sides, the politics of identity, of one’s ‘story’ are to the fore. In the case of the Republicans, the reasons for this are just obvious — making it about whether Palin or McCain or Obama or Biden is really ‘one of us’ is much stronger ground than whether the policies of the Bush Administration really served most Americans and whether McCain and Palin would do much to change course in a way that would improve matters.

    Far more people admire McCain for being a war hero, or Palin for being a kind of Alaskan Annie Oakley or female “Mr Smith goes to Washington” or your favourite character from the Waltons, than believe that they could manage the economy. So it’s far better to get people to vote on that than on policy.

    That is why it’s almost certainly a mistake for Obama to be seen as attacking either of them personally. Far better to show who McCain in particular isn’t up to fixing what is broken. Once people get that into their heads, how much they personally like either of them won’t matter a bit, and they will start to see for themselves that Palin is all front and no back.

  19. jacob1207 Says:

    The Palin pick, much to my surprise, appears to have been pretty brilliant–politically. I think it’d be potentially disastrous if she had to assume the presidency any time soon.

    The pick was made to lock in the support of the religious right, who love her and were lukewarm, at best, over McCain himself. A woman on the ticket and her display of speaking ability also intrigued and excited a lot of other people. But as we learn more of her, I’m more troubled and concerned about her experience and political views–and I say this as a Republican.

    Anyway, I don’t mind if you’re Ender Wiggin–just so long as you’re not Peter.

  20. pacer521 Says:

    Sorry, I didn’t answer all of your comments, mostly because I turned off moderation for a bit and went away from the computer. It seems like there were some brawls but they seemed to be won out, so I guess I’ll leave it at that for the Arken — Kevvboy comments. Other than that, I’ll just say in to everyone.

    Thank you all for all the compliments! Yes, sorry about that far-left thing, that was a mistake and now its fixed. Well, at least everyone is reading my entire post…

    Well, Ill get to answering the individual comments that I can respond to.

  21. nomad27 Says:

    Thanks for your comment on my Palin post. I, too, am impressed with your writing and your analysis on its own, and more so when you mention your age. And yes, when Rhapsodyinbooks accused you of being Ender Wiggen, it was a high compliment. Since your favorite blogs, and the title of this blog (I love your title. Douglas Adams is one of my heroes.) suggest that you enjoy science fiction, and sci-fi as cultural criticism, I think you’d like the (now ancient–I read it when I was 15) books Ender comes from: Check out “Ender’s Game,” by Orson Scott Card, and its many sequels and related stories. I, on the other hand, was going to accuse you of being Artemis Fowl (also a compliment, in my view).

    The most unusual and interesting aspect of your post is that you point out that McCain is not the enemy. It’s actually the first time I’ve seen a writer say that. On both sides of political debate, we so often forget that neither of the opposing candidates are evil-doers bent on destroying the country. Obama is not a Muslim extremist (or even a Muslim), a communist, or any of the other silly things he’s been accused of. McCain and Palin are not antichrists. They’re all just trying to get a lot of power so they can use it to do what they believe is right for the country. It’s just that I disagree with what McCain and Palin believe, so strongly that they scare me. It’s nice to be reminded, though, that they are well-meaning human beings, too.

    One more thought: You’ve mentioned above that you think you shouldn’t be worrying about all of this, since you’re not allowed to vote yet. I think, because you have such talent in writing and skill in getting your thoughts out to the blogosphere, you actually have more power than the average voting-age citizen. Each of us older folks gets just one vote. By sharing your thoughts, you’re making voters think, and you may be affecting more votes than you can imagine. Senator Obama is lucky to have you on his side.

    Ah, and I’m pleased to meet you, too.

  22. pacer521 Says:

    Nomad27,

    Thanks for the clarification about the Ender Wiggen, I stopped being extremely lazy and wikipedia’d him. I do, in fact, know who Artemis Fowl…

    Your second paragraph: Thanks for pointing that out, I really felt that I should stress that. Politics are such dog-eat-dog now that supporters of a certain party of politician look at the opposition as more than somebody they don’t agree with and look at them as a obstruction to America.

    Thanks for the compliments in the third paragraph and that last comment in general. Pleased to meet you as well.

    pacer521

  23. New House Says:

    Nice blog. Thanks for visiting mine.

    Can you imagine what those foreign leaders must’ve said behind their back after they left? They were probably laughing their a==e= off at what a dingbat she is.

    But in front of the media they’ll try to be nice.

  24. ReyMac Says:

    You mention that McCain is running for president because he wants to help the country. Not so. Here it is, in his own words

    “I didn’t decide to run for president to start a national crusade for the political reforms I believed in or to run a campaign as if it were some grand act of patriotism. In truth, I wanted to be president because it had become my ambition to be president. . . . In truth, I’d had the ambition for a long time.”

    – John McCain, Worth the Fighting For (2002)

  25. pacer521 Says:

    ReyMac,

    Great, but there is no saying that he doesn’t want to improve the country as well. that’s all I was getting at.

  26. count us out Says:

    I disagree that Sarah Palin is far right wing. The far left are the communists. The far right are the fascists.

    Sarah Palin is like most Americans: In the center standing firm on the Constitution and Bill of Rights. Like all of us, she holds personal beliefs and, like most of us, she does not impose them on others.

    Those misunderstood labels and rabidly identifying with a “lesser evil side” is causing us to allow our Country and Freedoms to be taken from us without too much effort. For some reason people on the left “believe” they have an obligation to their party to FORCE YOU TO BELIEVE as they do. You must agree with abortion, for instance. Being pro-life and not imposing that on others is NOT enough for the left. If you do not BELIEVE in abortion, you’re evil. You’re far right. CRAZY isn’t it?

    Those labels also keep our other mis-leaders from being like Sarah Palin! COUNTRY FIRST. That doesn’t just mean our economy or military. That means our FREE PEOPLE.

    Ron Paul, patriotic American who OMG… puts America First is treated like a pariah by his own party.

    Patriotic, American First Cynthis McKinney who will be proven by history to have been one of America’s greatest HEROES / LEADERS was thrown UNDER THE EARTH by the anti-American, anti-Constitution (un) Democratic Party and even Black folks.

    Sarah Palin, patriotic American, a true reformer is in the middle with us… America First – with freedom and justice for all.

    I think we have just the right mix in Palin at just the right moment in our nation’s history. She is a reformer and we can’t get enough of that! She is an intelligent leader with a sharp eye out for corruption and for keeping us a FREE PEOPLE.

    Time we stood back and considered how they caused us to detest each other because of party labels. Because when you really break it down, most of us feel pretty much the same about the important issues. Wonder how the left/right got us to be repulsed by the concept of putting OUR Country, Countrymen and Constitution First? Wonder why/how they keep FREE PEOPLES separated by race.

  27. kolchak33 Says:

    Everyone is scared of Palin for a lack of experience, but she’s had more executive experience than Obama. Like Clinton, she’s a governor. So I’m not exactly sure where all of this fear is coming from.

    In the end a president is only as good as his/her cabinet, anyway.

  28. rhapsodyinbooks Says:

    Regarding my first post in this thread about Ender Wiggen: Stop, do not pass go, take a blogging break, and immediately procure and read Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card!!! It is so you!!! … and a great book.

  29. pacer521 Says:

    ok — I think I’ll double-task. 🙂


Leave a Reply

