Our Largest Oil Importer Is…Canada?

July 29, 2008

As weird as this may sound, our biggest suppliers of oil to use are North and South of us, not East. A Washington Post study tells us that Iraq isn’t even in the top 5 of our top importers, and Mexico — you heard me right — Mexico is number three. But the biggest shock of all was the #1 spot — Canada, which gives us 1,840,000 barrels a day. Like you, I had always thought of the Middle East as our big oil supplier, but shockingly enough, it only claims three out of the top ten spots in the Post’s list. So why haven’t we heard this from anyone yet? What do I think? The common stereotype today, with the war on terror and such in the middle east along with the rising gas prices would most likely concur together, making the average American believe that the war caused the gas inflation. This would be a great example of one of my favorite quotes, Hanlon’s razor — which reads: Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity. Not that I am calling the American people stupid, but easily persuaded.

12 Responses to “Our Largest Oil Importer Is…Canada?”

  1. Josh Maxwell Says:

    You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

  2. pacer521 Says:

    Hey, thanks…that a real compliment. I do have a really good reader’s base, a lot of people (including you) are really reading my stuff and as a young guy and with an blog thats only been up for 2 weeks, I’ve gotten more than I could ever ask for really as far as a reading base. Its helped to be linked by a lot of people including the Boston Globe, so I’ve gotten a lot of readers there.

    Your right, there’s not many younger full time bloggers who really try to put quality posts up about stuff other than personal and what they were doing last night kind of stuff. They belong over on Myspace and Facebook, and with their crowding on WordPress its harder to find blogs that you can really learn from. I’m glad your reading my blog regularly, that stuff really keeps me going. There should be some really interesting posts going up after friday (but that doesn’t mean im going to stop posting) when I visit south america.

    Well anyway, thanks a lot and you’ve got a pretty good blog yourself. I’ve actually been to your blog before you commented, and I got some great ideas from it about hybrids and alternatives and stuff like that.

    sorry for the long response,
    pacer521


  3. I had no idea. For all we here about the Middle East, we get significantly more from the Americas. I found historical stats for all oil imports on the EIA’s website at http://tinyurl.com/6qm54r. I didn’t realize there was such a big drop in imports during the 80s.

  4. pacer521 Says:

    Woah, you’re right…there was an enormous drop during the 80’s. That’s really weird. I wonder what the drop was during the depression…
    great points furious

    pacer521

  5. Julie from MA Says:

    Great post. Great blog. You’re a smart kid! Just wanted to point out that it’s 1,840 *thousand* barrels a day from Canada, not just 1,840 🙂

  6. pacer521 Says:

    Hi Julie — thanks for the compliments, but I don’t quite get it. The number with the comma should explain it, right? Could you please tell me again?

    pacer521


  7. Yeah, that graph was in thousands of barrels. It’s really 1,840,000 barrels a day.

  8. pacer521 Says:

    Oh, thats a bit more 🙂 thanks guys,I’ll change it
    pacer521

  9. mylifeispink Says:

    i read about this too. i believe it’s all about perspective. coincidentally, i’ve been reading ths article too. a different topic but i think it also goes at where you’re getting at.

    http://houseonahill.net/is-a-diamond-really-forever/

  10. pacer521 Says:

    yeah it does. Thanks for the links. As a teenage boy you wouldn’t exactly say I am obsessed with diamonds or anything, but I love the overall point of the article. It goes to show that many things are deceiving, and thats something a lot of us are yet to understand. Thanks for visiting my blog

    pacer521

  11. andreachiu Says:

    Please don’t invade us. We’d have no shot at all…

  12. pacer521 Says:

    hehe….I’m not insulting Canada, you guys are awesome…just saying we may be over-obsessing over the middle east and oil.


Leave a Reply

