A New Religion We Have…Yoda Says

July 17, 2008

After searching on google for the best Star Wars fight ever (which by the way is the one at the end of Episode Six hands down), I ran across the strangest and most messed up thing ever to grace the top hits on Google — a youtube video that claims “Jedi” has become a religion. After watching it, I was completely amazed, but barely convinced — I wanted  to believe this was not true, but I had a strange lure towards it, (maybe the force has taken me over). So being the adventurous web surfer I was, I decided to find some credible proof beyond a youtube video. And, sadly I did.

Now I’m getting genuinely freaked out, as BBC news tells me its the 2nd most popular religion in New Zealand. (Maybe they signed all the sheep up…) Sooner or later I find myself staring at the homepage of JediChurch.com and reading through it. They wrote that (and this is straight from the site) “there is one all- powerful force that binds all things in the universe together. The Jedi religion is something innate inside everone of us, the Jedi Church believes that our sense of morailty is innate.” 

After looking at numerous wikipedia articles, I came upon stats that claim are almost a hundred thousand of these followers in concentrated areas of Canada, Australia, the UK and New Zealand. Go figure… Maybe there is a Yoda…or better yet, another green midget that has more skills than Yoda, that lives on this planet, under the religion of Jedi. But for now, keep a firm hold of your light-sabers and space zappers and stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

