What Makes A Movie Bad?

July 14, 2008

When making the commitment to sacrifice two or three hours of your precious time to a movie, I’m sure everyone would love to know if the picture is actually good. And no, this does not just mean glancing at their ad on the LA times Calendar section, it means actually doing some research. The difference from a good and bad movie can be very slim, but in the end, it all boils down to you. The “starred reviews” won’t tell you if the movie is good, and most of the time even the critics will give you bogus and maybe even biased info. First, check out the actors in the picture. This is the first test to see if the movie is as good as it claims it is. I fell for this trick when I failed to check the cast of the second Fantastic Four, and paid for it when Jessica Alba’s painfully bad acting forced me and my brother end up walking out on the movie. Second, look who the movie’s studio is. Unless you are a 12 year old Miley Cyrus buff, you might want to stay away from a family movie from Disney, no matter how funny it sounds. Trust me, after the first 15 minutes of Disney’s College Road Trip, I learned this the hard way. Last, but not least, if you are planning to see a sequel or a trilogy, keep in mind if the first movie was good. If it wasn’t (ex. Shrek) then there is a slim chance that it’s actually going to be good, or even have a plot for that matter. But if the first movie was good, go for it (ex. The Bourne Trilogy and Ocean’s 11, 12, and 13). Many people I know would disagree with this article, but hey, look at my blog’s subtitle.

7 Responses to “What Makes A Movie Bad?”


  1. For me, I generally look at the director and producer to get an idea of what I’m in for. I stopped relying on actors making good decisions a long time ago.

  2. Miss Conduct Says:

    Ah, I can tell you are too young for Star Trek! The first “Star Trek” movie was awful. The second one was good. Of course that was based on a TV show first, not a movie, so perhaps those dynamics are different.

  3. pacer521 Says:

    I have seen star trek! It was bad, but hey, it was star trek so I wasn’t surprised.


  4. Unfortunately even a known commodity like Star Trek is a sure thing. It’s pretty much a crapshoot.


  5. And of course I meant ISN’T a sure thing. Sorry to keep ragging on Star Trek.

  6. rakeon Says:

    I like word of mouth, cause I can usually ask more questions to see if I would like the film

  7. pacer521 Says:

    Yes, but you have to be wise and pick friends/reviewers who share your same views and interests, i.e. you can’t listen to a 12 year old disney queen’s perspective on the Bourne series. It just won’t be correct. Great point.

    pacer521


Leave a Reply

