Federer Seen His Best Days?

July 12, 2008

After feasting my eyes on what I thought was the best tennis ever played in a match in the Wimbledon final, it was clear the torch had been passed from Federer to Nadal, but what I really noticed was the toll it took on Federer after the match. He had lost to Nadal in the finals of the French Open, and Nadal marched right into Wimbledon and swiped Federer’s home turf right from under him, taking the best tennis ever played by Federer and rising above it. I don’t think Federer is totally done, but I think he has already reached his peak and I’m looking for him to start the declining part of his career. Losing his home tournament for the first time in 5 years is a huge setback, and rebounding from something like that will certainly be a daunting task for the world number one. Of course, I could totally be wrong, and I hope I am. Federer is the greatest player ever to pick up a racket all time (yes, even Pete Sampras) and let’s just hope he stays that way.

Leave a Reply

